Sign in to follow this  
FzCruzer

From three 1080p screens to one 1440?

Hello all,

I have been running a three screen 1080p setup for about 5 years now.  I originally set up the rig to play Iracing, but have enjoyed the bigger display in all games that I play that can support it.  I currently play WOT, Elite Dangerous and still some Iracing.  I tend to play other games when they are older, for example I just bought Fallout 4 over the holidays to play soon.

So with the three 1080p screens I play games at a resolution of 5760x1080 and am using a 980TI graphics card.  I am really thinking of doing away with the 3 screen setup and going to one of the 1440P IPS Gsync monitors 27" monitors.

I think that my 980TI will still push a single 1440 monitor just fine for the foreseeable future.  It seems the 1440 resolution is a great place to be while 4K is still maturing. 

Has anybody gone from a 3 screen setup to a single monitor?  I know I will like the nicer resolution but am afraid that I am going to miss the large display area.  

Might sound silly, but it will be nice to have the WOT mini map where I can see it without turning my head lol.  

Anybody using a 1440 monitor, is the display quality substantially better than 1080?  The 1440 monitors are pretty pricy and do not want to have buyers remorse lol.

Also, it looks like there are some 34" 1440 screens coming very soon that have a higher refresh rate than the current 60hz available.  that might work for me but I am concerned about the higher load on my last gen graphics card and would like to skip the current gen cards.