Jump to content


Toggle shoutbox Dads Shout

Osprey007 : (17 June 2017 - 04:51 PM)

hello - who's our Personal Officer - we have Spazz formerly of DHO6 lookking for a Clan Invite; it might of slipped through the cracks, can someone please sent him an invite

DarkJuggalo : (18 June 2017 - 03:11 PM)

cant change channels on TS where is sly lol

SlyGambit : (19 June 2017 - 01:25 PM)

Ignoring you as always. Hi Juggz!

gpc_4 : (19 June 2017 - 06:25 PM)

is he really a juggalo?

joey791 : (20 June 2017 - 08:49 AM)

Welcome to the forums DadForHire :)

Phoenix : (20 June 2017 - 11:12 AM)

Welcome!

Finnegan_gro... : (20 June 2017 - 01:26 PM)

We've already platooned with SteelNinja; great guy, great player, and between me, Yahmann and Steelninja I got a 75 per cent win rate on the night. thx for the awesome toon Steel.

YahMann : (20 June 2017 - 02:18 PM)

SteelNinja, majburnett is in DHO-X not DHO4.

bergsteiger : (21 June 2017 - 02:56 AM)

Jealous Finnegan, but glad to hear it!

joey791 : (21 June 2017 - 11:25 AM)

Welcome to the forums Poe :)

SGrant7 : (21 June 2017 - 11:46 AM)

GoT! 2.5 weeks! New trailer in the TV thread!

SilntMercy : (21 June 2017 - 12:04 PM)

Needs to happen now. This season looks amazing from the previews.

SGrant7 : (21 June 2017 - 12:12 PM)

Seriously!

joey791 : (21 June 2017 - 05:55 PM)

Welcome to the forums kore :)

Vikinger : (21 June 2017 - 06:02 PM)

GoT marathon on HBO starts tonight. Beginning with Episode 1. :-)... I may have to take a small breather from my grind in WoT.

joey791 : (21 June 2017 - 06:21 PM)

Welcome to the forums 0ntarg3t :)

0ntarg3t : (21 June 2017 - 06:29 PM)

thanks

0ntarg3t : (21 June 2017 - 06:29 PM)

just checking it all out

SGrant7 : (22 June 2017 - 09:11 AM)

Welcome 0ntarg3t

bergsteiger : (23 June 2017 - 05:36 PM)

Frustrating week for me in WoT. Be back in 9 days, hopefully refreshed :)


Photo

WIFI Range


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 ThatRandomJanitor

ThatRandomJanitor

    Assassin

  • Assassin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,492 posts
  • Location:Ottumwa, IA
  • Real first name:Trent

Posted 15 June 2017 - 09:40 PM

With the new house I've noticed that upstairs in the bedroom I'll get ONE LESS BAR. Not a big deal but it makes everything super slow. What are some good budget friendly ways to fix this?


  • 0
"Follow your dreams you can reach them I am proof.Beefcake beefcake!"
-Eric Cartman (South Park)

https://www.facebook...ng&z=1563304855

#2 Wolfey

Wolfey

    McN00bin'

  • McN00bin'
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Location:Upstate NY
  • Real first name:Scott
  • WoT ID:Wolfey08

Posted 15 June 2017 - 10:26 PM

just grab a wi fi extender or booster....


  • 1

#3 ThatRandomJanitor

ThatRandomJanitor

    Assassin

  • Assassin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,492 posts
  • Location:Ottumwa, IA
  • Real first name:Trent

Posted 15 June 2017 - 10:55 PM

I don't know squat about boosters or extenders. Any suggestions? Pros and cons of each?


  • 0
"Follow your dreams you can reach them I am proof.Beefcake beefcake!"
-Eric Cartman (South Park)

https://www.facebook...ng&z=1563304855

#4 serf

serf

    grand-master frash

  • Commander
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 622 posts
  • Location:indiana
  • Real first name:steve
  • Xbox:eneet
  • Steam:eneet

Posted 16 June 2017 - 07:30 AM

I don't know squat about boosters or extenders. Any suggestions? Pros and cons of each?

one less bar shouldn't cause that sort of problem.One thing that can kill a wireless signal though is another device (like a baby monitor) sitting on the same frequency (2.4Ghz).If your router and devices are capable of 5Ghz that would be your best bet, but not always possible.Range extenders aren't terrible. Heres one on sale today for a little over 11 bucks at amazon ( https://www.amazon.c.../dp/B01N8ROH7G/).I had a friend with a video baby monitor destroying his wifi so he setup powerline networking for use upstairs with great success.A starter kit should run 30-50 bucks.


  • 0

4339284550.png

49778236422.png


#5 xJediDadx

xJediDadx

    MTFBWY

  • Administrators
  • 5,334 posts
  • Location:South Texas
  • Real first name:Chris
  • PSN:xJediDadx
  • Steam:xjedidadx

Posted 16 June 2017 - 08:45 AM

I have all of my devices in the house on the 5Ghz channel cause everyone and their mother around us is on the 2.4Ghz channel

 

WiFi extenders are good too. I use to use one for the back of my house, but when I got a better router, it was no longer needed.  The extenders are meant to be used just at the edge of your routers signal to give you the extra coverage that you need around your house.

 

As far as range goes, most basic WiFi routers have a range of about 20-25 ft for a really strong signal.  Walls and stuff in your house will affect that range some but not much.  The more expensive your router gets, the faster speeds and better coverage you'll have without needing an extender/booster 


  • 0

7240.png

"Silence is golden, Duct Tape is silver. Take your pick"

"Evil will always triumph because Good is Dumb"

Daddy of Twinz!


DHO Discord ~ https://discord.me/dho



Users Awards

#6 Juggernaut41

Juggernaut41

    Keys to the Hideout

  • Keys to the Hideout
  • PipPip
  • 136 posts
  • Location:Seattle area
  • Real first name:Art
  • WoT ID:juggernaut41

Posted 16 June 2017 - 08:50 AM

I've monkeyed around with all manner of extenders and boosters... never really had much luck... dropouts... not really extending, etc. IMHO your best bet is to spend a little extra dough on a better router AND/OR see if you can reposition the router to a more centrally located position or at least one that has fewer barriers in the way to reach upstairs (if possible).


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  • 0

signature.png


#7 ThatRandomJanitor

ThatRandomJanitor

    Assassin

  • Assassin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,492 posts
  • Location:Ottumwa, IA
  • Real first name:Trent

Posted 16 June 2017 - 10:23 AM

Debating on running new wire to remove the cluster (censored) of old outdated wire in the basement for phone line. Right from box into the living area in rear of house, potential $10 fix. Baby monitor is right in the other room. Gonna call ISP and see about switching over the signal.


  • 0
"Follow your dreams you can reach them I am proof.Beefcake beefcake!"
-Eric Cartman (South Park)

https://www.facebook...ng&z=1563304855

#8 wtfovr

wtfovr

    Commander

  • Commander
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 620 posts
  • Location:Central Texas
  • Real first name:Steve
  • WoT ID:wtfovr

Posted 16 June 2017 - 11:21 AM

Where is your router?  

 

Personally, I feel it's better to run wire to each level of your house, and have an access point at each level.  5GHz is better as it's shorter range, but there's more channels to choose from and less mutual interference.  Other folks are probably using 5GHz too, but since it doesn't propogate as far as 2.4GHz, you don't interfere with your neighbors...  

 

2.4Ghz needs to be set up on channels 1, 6, and 11. Any other channels used (by anyone else, i.e. neighbors) just mutually interfere with one another.

 

One thing to investigate is what channel you're using (if you're running 2.4GHz)  and to see if there is a neighbor using the same channel as you are using.  basically, you and your neighbor's wifi is shouting at your device has a hard time hearing your router if it's at the outer perimeter of your wifi coverage. But getting a better router (i.e. louder bullhorn) increases the chances your device is hearing your router vs hearing your neighbor's wifi, but can't talk because it's speaking a different language (due to the passcode.)

 

So if you see your neighbor is using 6, and other neighbor is using 11. Then you need to set your router to channel 1. Try that first as a solution without having to spend any money.... If it solves the throughput issue, then you don't need an extender.  If it doesn't, well then you can investigate the extenders or running wire.


  • 0

#9 xJediDadx

xJediDadx

    MTFBWY

  • Administrators
  • 5,334 posts
  • Location:South Texas
  • Real first name:Chris
  • PSN:xJediDadx
  • Steam:xjedidadx

Posted 16 June 2017 - 01:05 PM

There are plenty of phone apps to get that'll show the wifi coverage by channel.  I use WiFi Analyzer


  • 0

7240.png

"Silence is golden, Duct Tape is silver. Take your pick"

"Evil will always triumph because Good is Dumb"

Daddy of Twinz!


DHO Discord ~ https://discord.me/dho



Users Awards

#10 happyfunball

happyfunball

    Assassin

  • Assassin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,348 posts

Posted 16 June 2017 - 08:36 PM

I've monkeyed around with all manner of extenders and boosters... never really had much luck... dropouts... not really extending, etc. IMHO your best bet is to spend a little extra dough on a better router AND/OR see if you can reposition the router to a more centrally located position or at least one that has fewer barriers in the way to reach upstairs (if possible).
 

 

If you're going to spend money, one option is to keep your existing router and instead buy an external access point (i.e. radio and antenna). There are a couple of benefits to this: First, the radio quality is usually better than what's built into your consumer grade wifi router. Second, you don't have to relocate your router, just the AP.

 

For example, this is what I got, while keeping my consumer grade TP-Link N750 wifi router and disabling the radio: https://www.amazon.c.../dp/B015PRO512/. For a more budget friendly option the AC-LITE version has slightly less wifi bandwidth and no ethernet passthrough. Since the PRO version has ethernet passthrough, it didn't take up an ethernet port on my router as I just chained the existing ethernet connection to the AP. The downside of the Ubiquiti is that it takes a little more work to get it up and running. It's not flip-a-switch-and-run. You don't need to be an IT professional, but having at least a little knowledge of networking would help a lot to get through the configuration.

 

For comparison, I have lots of walls in my small home. With the TP-Link, my daughter's room at the far corner of the house would get about 1 bar, while I would get 1.5 or so in the master bedroom. The signal on the front porch and backyard would be spotty at best. With the UAP-AC-PRO, I have solid max bars everywhere in the house and 2 or more bars in the front porch and backyard. Quite useful when I want to watch some netflix while sipping on some beers and yelling at the neighborhood kids to get off my lawn. :lol


  • 0

signature.png





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users